This Life is For the Birds

 

This Life is For the Birds

Earthship Post #16

April 2017

     I finally got a visit from a robin and his mate. I miss the robins we had in town. These only stayed for a day or so, then moved on to greener grass. (Literally). We don’t have much grass and no trees for them to nest in.

We have had a very colorful blue bird. He is shy and stays down by my dad’s cabin when he visits. I’ve been trying to figure out what kind of bird it is. I had just about settled on an Indigo Bunting, but my brother told me it’s a Mountain Bluebird.

Spring is here and once again I have green lawn envy. We have some green meadow grasses poking up through the ground, we even had grass growing in the tires we’ve already filled with dirt. It’s not quite the same.

I’ve been given a sweet gift of more birds visiting in the past few days. Right now I’m listening to the sweetest bird song I’ve ever heard. It’s loud and clear and when I tried to look out the windows, I couldn’t spot it. It must be on the roof of the camper.

There’s also a poor little bird that has started courting an allusive little bird that hides in the mirror of my son’s truck. He is obsessed with his own image. He hangs on the side of the truck looking at himself- sings to the reflection and when he flies to the back of the mirror to see the other bird, it’s gone. He rests on the solar panels and calls for his soul mate to no avail….So sad.

I love how quiet it is out here. I can really hear the bird calls. There are so many different sounds. I’m familiar with the flute-like call of the Western Meadowlark. They are the most abundant bird here. They also chatter to each other and nest on the ground. I can’t believe they do that since there are so many predators here. I guess they must be fairly safe though, because there are a lot of them here. I hear the neighbor’s rooster, ring necked doves and even crickets. It’s amazing what you can hear if you turn off all the noise.

I’ve spotted another Golden Eagle soaring higher and higher towards the foothills. A new bird was here the other day, a Copper’s Hawk. I wish Dave’s bird book wasn’t packed away. Oh well, there’s always Google. Now we have beautiful Swallows catching bugs in the fields.

There’s such beauty here, but you have to take the time to slow down and look for it. Tiny wildflowers, blooming cactus, even the flowering weeds bring a little color to the routine browns and sage green. Different birds visiting, soaring and singing.

Dave has always told me, “A place is blessed if birds are drawn to it.”

 

Matthew 6:25-26

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important that clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

My hope for you is that you filled with peace and free from worry. ❤

 

This entry was posted in Off Grid tips and trials, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Life is For the Birds

  1. Dwayne Reeder says:

    “Dave has always told me, ‘A place is blessed if birds are drawn to it.’ ”

    David is very wise! My birdbath is constantly in use. My house seems to be a sanctuary for not only birds and squirrels, but lost an injured pets.

    I think, they think that St. Francis of Assisi lives here 🙃

Leave a Reply